Particular and fibrous (nano-)materials

Nano- and micro-scale particular and fibrous materials are gaining importance in different technologies and applications. They are utilized in electronics, aerospace engineering as well as in cosmetics and food industry, among others. However, for the safe use and broad acceptance of these key technologies it is crucial to perform a sound risk assessment.

Potential toxic effects and mechanisms of these materials are diverse and depend on a multitude of different factors. Beside the chemical composition, structure and surface properties also play a critical role.

However, it is not feasible to perform extensive toxicological testing with every single material. Therefore, it is essential to establish basic strategies to investigate and evaluate materials in cell culture and animal experiments, and to elucidate general toxic mechanisms for groups of materials. These can be the base for future risk assessments.  

Our work focuses on determining toxic effects of particular and fibrous materials in in vitro cell culture systems. There is a special focus on a comprehensive initial characterization of the material in question, especially with regards to size distribution, solubility and agglomeration/aggregation in biological media (e.g. cell culture media and artificial lung fluids).

In the course of various projects, we assess the toxicity of metal-based nanoparticles and nanowires, crystalline quartz, carbon fibre fragments and carbon nanotubes, among others.

The applied cell culture systems reflect physiological conditions in different parts of the human body: potential inhalation of particles is reproduced by using pulmonary epithelial cells, immune cells and fibroblasts; a skin model using keratinocytes and immune cells is applied to simulate dermal exposure.

Schematic representation of nanomaterial application using submerged and air liquid interface (ALI) exposure. Left: submerged exposure of a monoculture. Middle: ALI exposure of a monoculture. Right: ALI exposure of a triple culture.

Mono-, co- and 3D culture systems are utilized to recreate in vivo exposure conditions in in vitro experiment settings as closely as possible. This way interactions between the different cell types are taken into account for risk assessment. Exposure through an air-liquid interface is another possibility to complement the data from classical submerged experiments. In this scenario cells are exposed to a particle or fibre containing aerosol.  

In toxicological testing, we place special focus on determining possible genotoxic effects and mechanisms of the materials, e.g. through increased generation of reactive oxygen species or induction of DNA strand breaks. Another main focus is the assessment of inflammatory and fibrotic mechanisms and the identification of toxicity profiles by high-throughput RT-qPCR.  

Current research projects

CFC, further informations here.
MetalSafety, further informations here.

 

 

 

 

Contact:

KIT-IAB-TOX
Titan(IV)-dioxid Nanowires
KIT-IAB-TOX
Silber Nanopartikel

Important publications

Hufnagel M., Schoch S., Wall J., Strauch B.M., Hartwig A.

Toxicity and Gene Expression Profiling of Copper- and Titanium-Based Nanoparticles Using Air-Liquid-Interface Exposure

Chemical Research in Toxicology (2020)
 

Strauch B.M., Hubele W., Hartwig A.

Impact of Endocytosis and Lysosomal Acidification on the Toxicity of Copper Oxide Nano- and Microsized Particles: Uptake and Gene Expression Related to Oxidative Stress and the DNA Damage Response

Nanomaterials (2020)
 

Strauch B.M., Niemand R.K., Winkelbeiner N.L., Hartwig A.

Comparison between micro- and nanosized copper oxide and water soluble copper chloride: interrelationship between intracellular copper concentrations, oxidative stress and DNA damage response in human lung cells

Particle and Fibre Toxicology (2017)
 

Maser E., Schulz M., Sauer U.G., Wiemann M., Ma-Hock L., Wohlleben W., Hartwig A., Landsiedel R.

In vitro and in vivo genotoxicity investigations of differently sized amourphous SiO2 nanomaterials

Mutation Research (2015)


Semisch A., Ohle J., Witt B., Hartwig A.

Cytotoxicity and genotoxicity of nano - and microparticulate copper oxide: role of solubility and intracellular bioavailability

Particle and Fibre Toxicology (2014)

Abteilung für Lebensmittelchemie und Toxikologie

Partikuläre und faserförmige (Nano-) Materialien

Partikuläre und faserförmige Materialien in nano- und mikroskaligen Größenbereichen gewinnen zunehmend an Bedeutung in unterschiedlichsten Anwendungen, darunter in der Elektronik, der Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik sowie in der Kosmetik- und Lebensmittelindustrie. Voraussetzung für die Akzeptanz dieser Schlüsseltechnologien ist jedoch der sichere Umgang mit den jeweiligen Materialien, der eine fundierte Risikobewertung voraussetzt.

Die potenziell toxischen Wirkungen dieser Materialien sind vielfältig und hängen von einer Vielzahl von Faktoren ab. Es spielen sowohl die chemische Zusammensetzung als auch die Struktur und Oberflächeneigenschaften eine tragende Rolle.

Es wird jedoch nicht möglich sein, jedes eingesetzte Material einer umfangreichen toxikologischen Untersuchung zu unterziehen. Aus diesem Grund ist die Etablierung von Untersuchungs- und Bewertungsstrategien sowohl für Zellkulturen als auch für Tierversuche dringend erforderlich, um generelle Wirkungsmechanismen für Gruppen von Nanomaterialien aufzuklären und eine anschließende Risikobewertung durchzuführen.

Unsere Arbeiten konzentrieren sich auf mögliche toxische Effekte von partikulären und faserförmigen Materialien in in-vitro Zellkultursystemen. Ein besonderer Fokus wird zunächst auf eine umfangreiche Materialcharakterisierung gelegt, vor allem auf die Größenverteilung, Ermittlung von Löslichkeiten und das Agglomerations- bzw. Aggregationsverhalten der Materialien in biologischen Medien (u.a. Zellkulturmedium und artifizielle Lungenflüssigkeiten).

Die im Rahmen verschiedener Projekte untersuchten Materialien umfassen unter anderem Metall-basierte Nanopartikel und Nanofasern (engl. Nanowire), kristalline Quarzpartikel, Carbonfaserbruchstücke und carbon nanotubes.

Die verwendeten Zellkultursysteme spiegeln die Bedingungen in unterschiedlichen Teilen des menschlichen Körpers wider: Eine potenzielle Inhalation von Partikeln wird durch die Verwendung von Epithelzellen, Immunzellen und Fibroblasten der Lunge simuliert; zur Nachbildung einer dermalen Exposition wird ein Hautmodell mit Keratinozyten und Immunzellen verwendet.

Schematische Darstellung der Applikation von Nanomaterialien über submerse und air-liquid interface (ALI) Exposition. Links: submerse Exposition einer Monokultur. Mitte: ALI Exposition einer Monokultur. Rechts: ALI Exposition einer Triplekultur.
Schematische Darstellung der Applikation von Nanomaterialien über submerse und air-liquid interface (ALI) Exposition. Links: submerse Exposition einer Monokultur. Mitte: ALI Exposition einer Monokultur. Rechts: ALI Exposition einer Triplekultur.

Um in-vivo-Expositionsbedingungen möglichst genau in-vitro nachstellen zu können, werden Mono-, Co- und 3D-Kulturmodelle eingesetzt. So werden auch Interaktionen verschiedener Zelltypen für die Risikobewertung berücksichtigt. Neben der klassischen submersen Exposition ist darüber hinaus eine Exposition über eine Luft-Flüssigkeits-Grenzschicht (engl. air-liquid interface) möglich. In diesem Szenario werden die Zellkulturen partikel- oder faser-haltigen Aerosolen ausgesetzt.

Ein besonderer Fokus unserer toxikologischen Untersuchungen wird auf mögliche genotoxische Wirkungen der Materialien gelegt, z.B. durch eine vermehrte Generierung reaktiver Sauerstoffspezies oder die Induktion von DNA-Strangbrüchen. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt liegt in der Feststellung möglicher inflammatorischer und fibrotischer Mechanismen sowie in der Identifizierung von Toxizitätsprofilen mittels Hochdurchsatz RT-qPCR.

Aktuelle Forschungsprojekte

CFC, weitere Informationen hier.
MetalSafety, weitere Informationen hier.

Ansprechpartner: Dr. Matthias Hufnagel

Titan(IV)-dioxid Nanowires
Silber Nanopartikel

Relevante Publikationen

Hufnagel M., Schoch S., Wall J., Strauch B.M., Hartwig A.

Toxicity and Gene Expression Profiling of Copper- and Titanium-Based Nanoparticles Using Air-Liquid-Interface Exposure

Chemical Research in Toxicology (2020)
 

Strauch B.M., Hubele W., Hartwig A.

Impact of Endocytosis and Lysosomal Acidification on the Toxicity of Copper Oxide Nano- and Microsized Particles: Uptake and Gene Expression Related to Oxidative Stress and the DNA Damage Response

Nanomaterials (2020)
 

Strauch B.M., Niemand R.K., Winkelbeiner N.L., Hartwig A.

Comparison between micro- and nanosized copper oxide and water soluble copper chloride: interrelationship between intracellular copper concentrations, oxidative stress and DNA damage response in human lung cells

Particle and Fibre Toxicology (2017)
 

Maser E., Schulz M., Sauer U.G., Wiemann M., Ma-Hock L., Wohlleben W., Hartwig A., Landsiedel R.

In vitro and in vivo genotoxicity investigations of differently sized amourphous SiO2 nanomaterials

Mutation Research (2015)


Semisch A., Ohle J., Witt B., Hartwig A.

Cytotoxicity and genotoxicity of nano - and microparticulate copper oxide: role of solubility and intracellular bioavailability

Particle and Fibre Toxicology (2014)